Subscription Boxes: Bookly Box

I hope that you enjoyed my previous review of Owlcrate! Today I’m going to be discussing Bookly Box, another book-based subscription box (I will be covering at least one non-book based one in the future). Here’s a picture of everything I received in the August box.

IMG_2489

Packaging
10/10

I love that there was a bag, which seems to be of reasonably good quality, included in the box. The box itself arrived a little dented but everything inside was in perfect condition.

Shipping
8/10

The box got here incredibly fast but I wasn’t entirely sure of when it was going to ship (although that may have just been because I was new and missed something).

Contents
(Fantasy Box)

  • The Heretic Land by Tim Lebbon
  • Two Tazo tea bags
  • Book light
  • Thumb book page holder
  • Bookmark
  • Bag
  • Card describing where this month’s donation was going

Review

This subscription box comes with access to an online community where you can discuss the books and chat with others. There is also a podcast where the moderators of the genre discussion group discuss the book, sometimes with the author. Additionally, for every subscription box sold, they donate one book to kids/teenagers/adults in less developed countries and provide you a comprehensive report of where your donation went to and how it will make a difference.

While I really liked the concept of this box (having one book be donated to charity each month), the contents left a little something to be desired. I’m a bit of a tea snob so the Tazo tea bags weren’t a huge selling point. The book light and book page holder were new additions to this month’s box and, while I haven’t used them yet, they both seem to be decent quality and as if they would be useful. Regarding the book itself, I haven’t read it yet. I can’t properly judge it but it was not one that I would have chosen for myself (which could be good or bad but it has extremely mixed reviews on Goodreads). I have extremely limited space on my bookshelves so I prefer subscription boxes that feature books more aligned with what I would choose on my own.

Overall, I believe that this subscription box would be best suited for those who like supporting the One-for-One movement (and have the budget/space on their bookshelves), those who would fully utilize the online community, and those who enjoy discovering new books. I did not end up renewing my subscription for a second month because of both space and monetary reasons but I do applaud this company for their efforts to help spread literacy.

This entry was posted in Subscription Box Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

