Finding Dory and Costco

I’ll post a proper book review later today but I wanted to get some other thoughts out first. First of all, I used my parents dog in a photoshoot the other day and she was the perfect little model. I was a little worried that she would nibble on the book but she just sniffed in and liked putting her head in the pages. 


Finding Dory

I’ve seen this movie twice since it came out and I think it’s one of Pixar’s best movies recently. It definitely seemed to deal with slightly more adult themes than Finding Nemo, perhaps to appeal to the audience members who grew up with Finding Nemo. The evolution of the search from Dory’s parents to the attempt to save her family was wonderful to watch. 

Dory has always been my favorite character. Her outlook on life is so positive. This movie really explores that as you see her (slightly depressing) backstory. Despite everything that has happened to her, she always figures out a way to overcome anything with a smile on her face. From now on, there is a decent chance that when I need to find an alternative solution I will ask myself “What would Dory do?”

All of the fan favorites from the first movie return with the addition of some wonderfully fleshed out characters. Each is flawed in their own way but that’s life. How they work together and encourage each other is something wonderful to watch. I don’t want to spoil anything but the ending was perfect, particularly two moments between Marlin and Dory. I think this is one of the best movies about what it means to be a family that I’ve seen in a while. 

Also, that short at the beginning. I love it so much. The motion of the waves was truly beautiful and I loved how many emotions they could show without using any words. It was a story about courage, love, and determination. The friendship between the hermit crab and the sand piper was just too cute. 

Costco, books, and danger

So yesterday I bought six books at Costco (no pictures yet but I’m sure there will be many). After a lot of deliberation and going back and forth, I’ve decided to start collecting the word cloud classic editions. I’ve been an admirer of these for many years ever since encountering my first one at the Tattered Covers bookstore in Colorado. I pu that one back but I’ve always picked them up in bookstores before putting them back down. 

Since the best way to do things is with great determination, I bought my first six yesterday (Peter Pan, Grimm Fairy Tales, Pride & Prejudice, Andersen’s Fairy Tales, Alice in Wonderland, and The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes) and created a wish list on Amazon with the remaining ones so I can keep track. There’s apparenly 48 more that I need to collect to have the whole series…. Two a month should take me two years to collect them all. I’ve been searching for a good way to keep track of books I want to buy and my ever-growing TBR list. So far I’ve been using goodreads but it’s such a pain to get set up. I know the end result will be worth it but I want to spend my free time reading! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

