Review: The Passenger By Lisa Lutz

I was incredibly excited when I stopped by the library a few days ago and found Lisa Lutz’s newest book. If you haven’t read The Spellman Files, I highly recommend you go check those out. They’re kind of like the Shopaholic series if Becky were a private investigator. I started reading The Passenger on Tuesday and just finished it on my lunch break today.

IMG_1020.jpg

With tea from The London Tea Club (aren’t the test tubes adorable??) and the colors I picked for my newest crochet project.

Overall Score: 8.5/10

The Essential Story

A woman already on the run from her past goes on the run again after she finds her husband dead. (I can’t add much more than this without including spoilers!)

First thoughts

Oh man, definitely not the conclusion I was expecting at all but it was somehow better than I thought it would be. This book kept me thoroughly engrossed the entire time I was reading it. The story is even darker than I thought it would end up being (there’s a few murders) but it’s a very well written book. The pacing was perfect and I was never bored.

IMG_1054.jpg

Review

So the story starts out with a Tanya’s husband falling down the stairs and dying. Afraid that an investigation will reveal that she doesn’t actually exist, Tanya goes on the run, changing identities as she goes. Along the way, she meets some very interesting characters (I don’t want to spoil too much but I love Blue and Domenic, they are seriously cool characters).

In the end, we found out why Tanya was on the run in the first place and exactly what happened. Throughout the book you get email exchanges between Ryan and Jo, which hint at a backstory that is actually very interesting. The twists and turns of this story will keep you hooked. It’s definitely dark and there was one scene that I think was a little unnecessary (I don’t want to spoil it but having something blow up didn’t really do a ton to advance the plot in my mind).

I really liked how every time Tanya switched her identity, the book started off with a new section. While you could see who she was as a person throughout, it was definitely entertaining to see how she adapted to each identity. Additionally, the number of ways in which she acquired new identities were incredibly creative and inventive. I found attending funerals to be perhaps the most morbid, yet creative, way that I’ve heard of yet.

Overall, this was a very entertaining book and I highly recommend it if you’re in the book for a dark thriller that doesn’t take itself too serious.

Page Length: 320

Genre: Thrillers & Suspense, Crime

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Source: Library

This entry was posted in Book, Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

