Mandalas and Books

This week’s weekend projects is a little late (Okay, a lot late because I’m still getting the hang of this whole blogging thing) because I decided to postpone writing this in order to celebrate my boy friend’s birthday Monday and my uncle was visiting Tuesday. After way too much cake, I’m a little nostalgic for all the reading and crochet time I had this past weekend (well plus the two days of vacation I had before the actual weekend).

IMG_0982.jpg

The mandalas are Puffs and Picots by @mobiusgirl and I love how it worked up so beautifully in two very different yarns.These were my first mandalas and I couldn’t be more pleased with how they turned out. The pattern was complicated enough that I learned something new but was still able to enjoy the process without getting frustrated. Plus they were relatively quick to make!

Midnight Sun: 5/10

I loved Jo Nesbo’s Harry Hole series but Midnight Sun wasn’t really my cup of tea. I can’t exactly explain it and I really wanted to like it but I just don’t. The story follows a “fixer” for a crime lord as he attempts to escape his previous life. In his escape, he meets a woman and her young sun.

There weren’t many plot twists and the writing itself didn’t feel particularly inspired (Note: this is a translation so I don’t know what part of that is due to the author and what part to the translator). That is entirely my opinion though.ย  If you liked Blood on Snow, you’ll probably like this one!

Assassin’s Heart: 6/10

Assassin’s heart was decent, definitely lived up to the description of the Godfather meets Romeo and Juliet. Check it out if you’re in the mood for a book about revenge, love, and family.

There was a religious aspect to this book, however it was very similar to that seen in the His Fair Assassin’s trilogy (which I highly recommend if you haven’t already read it). I felt as if there wasn’t enough build-up in the beginning for me to really care about Val, the Romeo character. It would also have been nice to have a little bit more world-building at the beginning. Those are relatively small complaints though and this was a decent book. Might be more appropriate for a younger reader- I think I would have loved this book in my mid-teens but at 24, I tend to look for stories that are a little bit more complex and well-written.

The Glittering Court:6/10

The Glittering Court has been on my TBR list for a while and I’m only about half-way done with it so far. I have such mixed feelings right now so I’ll let you know my opinion once I’m done.

So far, the story is about a countess who decided to escape an arranged marriage to her itchy cousin (totally don’t blame her for this part) by joining the glittering court, where common women are transformed into high-class brides for the rich men of a new nation. The main love interest is established early on and I never doubted that they’d end up together, which definitely causes the story to lose a lot of its tension. If you just take it as a “boy meets girl, they fall in love, and have to overcome some obstacles” story, it’s a good book. TBD if that continues in the last bit….

So I actually finished the book between when I originally wrote this and publishing it so I’ll just finish up my review here. The ending of the book seemed way too tidy and there really wasn’t enough detail (the entire conclusion just seemed a little forced and the whole bit about Warren was kind of hinted at but a lot of things just came out of nowhere, which I’m not a huge fan of). When the next book comes out, I’ll probably get it at the library again rather than buying it.

(Note: there’s small a chance I’m still suffering from A Court of Mist and Fury book-hangover)

This entry was posted in Book, Book Reviews, Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

