Weekend Projects

After much thought and running into length restrictions on Instagram comments, I decided to start a blog in addition to my Instagram adventures. I’ll publish detailed reviews of both books and my crochet projects here and see where that takes me!

IMG_0882.JPG

First crochet hat (and attempted scarf), Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, A Court of Thorns and Roses

So if you’ve been following me on IG, I mentioned that I was going to finally read Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies. I ended up getting distracted by both of these books…. Oops! Feeling intrepid, I decided to also crochet my first hat (and scarf – pictured here as the ball of yarn).

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: 4.5/5

It only seems appropriate that this is the first book I review. I’ve been a fan of Maas’ writing since the first Throne of Glass book and was incredibly happy when I found out she was doing a Beauty and Beast re-telling (also Persephone but that’s for a future post). This is the second time I read this book. I actually enjoyed it more this time around, perhaps because I was judging it on its own merits, rather than in comparison to Throne of Glass.

The characters: Every character, even the minor ones, was fully developed and was allowed to grow. I absolutely adored Feyre. Every one of her actions was understandable and consistent with her characterization. This review will be spoiler-free but her actions, and subsequent feelings, in the last third of the book are what really won me over. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Tamlin but perhaps that will change in the next book.

The plot: I am a huge Beauty and the Beast fan so I loved the fact that Maas stuck to the basic storyline but really made it her own. While I would recognize elements (such as the dress scene or the dinners together), there were still twists that surprised me and kept me glued to the page.

Love triangle: Not at all! Finding young adult books without love triangles is the holy grail for me.

Overall: This book left me eagerly awaiting the second. I was just as engrossed the second time.

Seven Brief Lessons in Physics by Carlo Rovelli: 4/5

Physics simplified! A great overview of the subject written in an engaging, entertaining manner. Plus it’s only 88 pages and manages to be informative without being ย too technical. I’m a science person so I enjoyed this very quick read.

The Hat (and Attempted Scarf)

So this was my first attempt ever at crocheting a hat. I just recently mastered the magic circle to start with and that opened up a whole new world of possibilities. I carefully selected my yarn (KnitPicks, Brava Bulky) and a pattern.

First of all, I absolutely love this yarn! I’m highly allergic to wool so I’ve been on an on-going quest to find a good acrylic or cotton yarn. This one is acrylic, incredibly soft, and the finished product is squishy and warm.

After finishing the pattern, I tried on the hat on, looked in the mirror and immediately burst out laughing. It was stretched tight and barely covered my head. I looked back at the pattern and realized that instead of using a herringbone half double-crochet, I just used a half double.

I decided to add a brim to the hat, which luckily solved the most pressing problem, namely that of the length. Now instead of looking like something Santa’s elves would wear on vacation, it resembles a hat that I would actually wear when it gets cold.

I started on a cowl using the remainder of the yarn (I was aiming to use one skein per project) and ended up frogging it entirely. I still like the pattern I was going to use, however I need to start with a shorter chain. Keep an eye out for the complete set in the future!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Book, Book Reviews, Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Projects

  1. LOVE your blog. And also, I wish that I could crochet like you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

